Food: Return of the Hot Sauce

Posted: November 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Thanksgiving is apparently on Thursday. The thought did not cross my mind until I was talking with my parents on skype last night. They wished me a happy Thanksgiving, but then told me that they wouldn’t call me on Thursday since it’s just a regular day for me. Thanks parents, way to make me feel special. This is the first year in my life that I will not have celebrated Thanksgiving with my parents. It is a somewhat sad occasion as I am a self-proclaimed food lover. If you know me, you know my greatest love is food (with Mercedes coming in at a close second). Thanksgiving is one of my favorite, if not my favorite, holidays of the year as it is devoted solely to eating. I love goring myself on turkey, stuffing, potatoes (well, really the marshmallows on top of the sweet potatoes), apple cider, apple pie, and pumpkin pie. I also love the following days of leftovers. I may not be able to stuff myself on homemade goodness in Russia, but I can ramble about the food here.

I was in the store the other day buying my groceries. Amongst my products, I was getting soy sauce in an attempt to add some flavor to some of the foods that I have been cooking (read: I need new ways of flavoring my potatoes). The woman behind me in line then started to talk to me. She noticed my bottle of soy sauce and told me that she first thought it was some sort of strange alcohol–it’s Russia, apparently I’m supposed to buy hard alcohol at 10AM–but then realized that the bottle said it was some kind of sauce. She then asked if it was very spicy. I wish. One of the things that I have missed most about America is hot sauce, specifically a good buffalo sauce. Upon arriving at home, I will demand a feast of American pizza and buffalo wings.

I was discussing the lack of spicy foods with my Russian professor and she recommended some Georgian and Armenian sauces to try. I got one at the store.  The jar says that it is for lovers of hot experiences and has a name that basically translates to “fire sauce.”

Flavorful, but not spicy enough.

While it contains some punch, it is nowhere near as spicy as I would like. I used to bring my own hot sauce to Friday buffalo wing day at Marquis because their “suicide” sauce was too mild for my taste.

I used to carry this around with me. Thanks Jenn.

Comments
  1. GT says:

    You need to find some red pepper flakes or tabasco to help add a punch to things. Look in one of your big supermarkets, they should have it. Be prepared to pay an exorbitant price for the tabasco though…

    • grunewas says:

      Red pepper flakes would be nice. They definitely won’t be at the market by my dorm. There actually isn’t much there at all. Yay for needing to get on marshrutki to buy something more than potatoes, cabbages, carrots, and chicken.

  2. Julia Zotova says:

    >red pepper flakes or tabasco
    Definitely! We have them! Magnit is not the best place (speaking of the choise), we’ll do smth with it)

Leave a Reply

