School and Skating

Posted: December 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

This past week, on Wednesday, I went with one of my students to the school where she teaches. She’s an English teacher in a regular grade school in the city. I went there, School 82, to speak with the students in English. They were all very excited to meet an American. I told a little bit about myself and showed them some photos about America, which Fulbright had given me at our orientation in July. I then asked them some questions before they were free to ask me any question they wanted. I got the usual questions about how Russians and Americans are different and what I like to do in my free time. The students were all shocked when I said that I do Tae Kwon Do. At the end, we took some photos. One girl even asked me for a hug. They want me to come back in the spring and am I more than willing to do so.

Today I went on an adventure with my friends from the university. We went ice skating. I have a bit of a history with skating because I almost broke my wrist in the 6th grade while skating. Thankfully it was just a really bad sprain, but I still had my wrist in a splint for a while and I got to spend quality hours in the Norwalk Hospital Emergency Room. That was the first of my many unpleasant visits to that particular hospital over the years. One of the finest times was when they lost my grandmother for a while. Whoops. When setting it up, I was given many opportunities to back out of skating. I was even asked if I am as afraid of skating as I am of dead bodies and mummies. I am not, and I have plenty of other things, of which I am more afraid (snakes, spiders, jury duty, etc.). We went to the one and only indoor rink in the city, which is located on the other side of the city. I didn’t fall once, which means that I also didn’t break anything. Although, I came close to falling quite a few times. I guess I’ve gotten used to slipping and regaining my balance walking around ice covered sidewalks in the city. Apparently I had a look of fear plastered on my face most of the time, but I guess that’s generally how I look when I’m skidding slightly out of control and attempting to not land on my face. It didn’t help that George spent a bit of time explaining all the different ways that I could break my wrist at dinner the night before. Despite my fears, I had a great time.

Also, I got another Lyapis Trubetksoy poster last night. I unsuccessfully tried to get two others today, but I did manage to get a Communist Party poster from the recent elections. I’m slightly sad, though, that there are not images of Lenin on the Communist Party posters in the city of his birth.

I swear I'm not a kleptomaniac.

Leave a Reply

